Nov. 21, 1996
Vol. 16, No. 6

current issue
archive / search


    John Bailar III, Professor and Chairman of Health Studies, has received the Ramazzini Award. The award is presented by the Collegium Ramazzini, a group of scientists and government and labor leaders devoted to the understanding and prevention of occupational diseases. Bailar delivered the annual Ramazzini Lecture in Capri, Italy, in October.

    Jeffrey Bluestone, Professor in Pathology and Director of the Ben May Institute, is one of six new appointments to the National Institute on Aging's Advisory Council on Aging. The council advises on the conduct and support of biomedical, social, and behavioral research, training, health information dissemination and other programs involving aging and the diseases and needs of the aged.

    Philip Eaton, Professor in Chemistry, has been selected to receive a 1997 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society. The award, which was established to recognize and encourage excellence in organic chemistry, will be presented next September at the fall ACS meeting, where Eaton will present a lecture.

    Martha Feldman, Associate Professor of Music, has been awarded the Bainton Prize for her book City Culture and the Madrigal at Venice (1995). This prize is given by the Center for Reformation Research of the North American Research Institute for Sixteenth-Century Studies.

    William Fulton, Professor in Mathematics, has been awarded one of two 1996 Leroy P. Steele Prizes for Mathematical Exposition. Fulton received the prize, which is awarded by the American Mathematical Society, for his book Intersection Theory (1984). The Steele Prizes, considered among the most prestigious awards in mathematics, are given each year for Lifetime Achievement, Mathematical Exposition and Seminal Contribution to Research.

    Robert Haselkorn, the Fanny L. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology, has received the Gregor Johann Mendel Honorary Medal for Merit in the Biological Sciences from the Czech Republic Academy of Sciences. Haselkorn, who is Director of the University's Center for Photochemistry and Photobiology, was cited for his work on gene rearrangements in blue-green algae.

    Janet Rowley, the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor in Medicine, has been awarded the Medal of Honor, the most prestigious award given by the American Cancer Society. Rowley was honored for "conducting groundbreaking research that established her as a world leader in cancer genetics; for discovering the significance for cancer of several important chromosome abnormalities; for being first to identify diagnostic chromosomal translocations in several types of leukemia and lymphoma and cloning a number of the translocation breakpoints related to those cancers; for laying the groundwork for improved diagnosis and treatment for patients; and for being an outstanding teacher, mentor and adviser to others in the cancer research community worldwide."

    Marshall Sahlins, the Charles F. Grey Distinguished Service Professor in Anthropology, has been elected an honorary fellow of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. The institute elects each year no more than 50 scholars eminent in anthropology in recognition of their contributions to the field.

    Michael Weiss, Professor in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Director of the Center for Molecular Oncology, has received the 1996 Fletcher Award from the Cancer Research Foundation. The $100,000 award will fund Weiss's research on structural mechanisms of a human tumor suppresser gene product.

    William Golomski, Senior Lecturer in the Graduate School of Business, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Golomski, who is president of W.A. Golomski and Associates, was elected for his "contributions in integrating customer-centered quality and engineering design."

    Jonathan Frenzen, Senior Lecturer in the Graduate School of Business, has received the Best Article Award from the Journal of Consumer Research. Frenzen received the honor for the article "Structure, Cooperation and the Flow of Market Information," which he co-wrote with Kent Nakamoto.