June 6, 1996
Vol. 15, No. 19

current issue
archive / search

    Chicago students again lead nation in Fulbright fellowships

    Awards among numerous national prizes to University grad students University graduate students have once again performed exceptionally well in national fellowship competitions this year, leading the nation in the number of Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships received. Chicago graduate students have been awarded the highest number of these Fulbrights in nine of the past 10 years.

    Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships were awarded to eight students: Marc Baer, Elise Giuliano, Deepak Sarma, Jennifer Seif, Michael Shin, Renee Worringer, Sarah Hodges (who also won an American Institute of Indian Studies award) and James Bjork, who also won an International Research & Exchange Board (IREX) award and a USIA/IIE Fulbright grant. Other IREX recipients were Sarah Krive and Janet Stamatel. USIA/IIE Fulbright grants were also given to Kelly Chong, Rebecca DeRoo, Maureen Healy, Christopher Nelson, Chris Oliver and Laura Ring.

    Spencer Foundation Dissertation Fellowships were awarded to Anthony Berkley and Ritty Lukose.

    Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships went to William Bissell, Shannon Burkes, Michael Crumbock, Paula McQuade, Eric Sorensen and David Ciepley, who also won the Josephine de Karman Fellowship.

    Three graduate students received DAAD (German Academic Exchange) Fellowships: Devin Pendas, Ray Andre Wakefield and Jeremy Straughn, who also received a Germanistic Society award. Thomas Bartscherer received a DAAD Summer Language Fellowship.

    Six graduate students received National Science Foundation Fellowships: Adam Cohen, Lori Hill, Krista Lewis, Jorge Lopez, Gustav Peebles and Peter Rauske. Lopez also won a Howard Hughes Fellowship, as did Bin Chen.

    National Aeronautics & Space Administration Fellowships were awarded to Kimberly Coble, Jeffrey Jewell and Donald Lee MacMinn. A National Defense Science & Engineering Fellowship was awarded to Paul Li.

    CIC Foreign Language Enhancement Program awards went to six students: Gregory Grieve, Mark Hinchman, Heather Hindman, Helen Koh, Jocelyn Marrow and Carmen Pai.

    CIC Small Research Grants in the Humanities were awarded to Marlise Edwards, Raymond Hernandez, Clyde Long, Yolanda Padilla and Jacqueline Stewart.

    Victoria Pagan received the CIC Dissertation Fellowship in the Humanities, and Lisa Moses received the Chateaubriand Fellowship. A Georges Lurcy Fellowship was awarded to Erica Lichtenbaum.

    The Council on European Studies Pre-Dissertation Training Fellowship was awarded to Diana Snigurowicz. The IIE Study Abroad Scholarship was granted to C. Rodolfo Celis.

    The Woodrow Wilson Dissertation Grant in Women's Studies was awarded to Caitrin Lynch. A Ford Foundation Fellowship went to Mignon Moore, and a Franco-American Commission Fellowship went to Wendy Norris.