June 6, 1996
Vol. 15, No. 19

current issue
archive / search

    University dissertation fellowships awarded

    Forty-six Chicago graduate students have been awarded University dissertation fellowships. All of the awards include tuition and a stipend for one year.

    The Whiting Fellowships in the Humanities, which are given to doctoral students in their final dissertation year, were awarded to Francesca Bordogna, Eric Brown, Valentina Izmirlieva, Michael Latham, H. Paul Manning, Claudia Mesch, Tamar Reich and Mark Usher. The grants are awarded by a faculty committee and are underwritten by the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation to support "the most promising scholars in their fields designated by each participating university."

    A Chicago Humanities Institute Fellowship was awarded to Maureen McLane. The recipients of the CHI Fellowships, which parallel the Whiting Fellowships, are selected by the faculty governing board of the institute.

    Harper Dissertation Fellowships, which are given to students in the divisions and in the Divinity School who are within 12 to 18 months of finishing their dissertations, were awarded to Paul DeHart, Gunther Eble, Scott Holley, Barbara Jaffee, Katherine Kelley, Adriano Rampini, Peter Shawhan and Gary Wilder. Students are nominated by faculty members, and the grants are awarded by a faculty committee.

    Twenty-nine Mellon Dissertation Fellowships were granted. The recipients are Shoshannah Cohen, Bradley Evans, Sabine Haenni, Maureen McLane, William Pritchard, Wolfram Schmidgen, Paul Young, Eric Brown, Milena Hruby, Gad Itai, Jesse Prinz, Jessica Spector, Andrew Cohen, Stephane Gerson, Matthew Karush, Matthew Lenoe, Brian Ogilvie, Awadhendra Sharan, John Shovlin, Michael Willrich, Randall Clark, Meskerem Gebrekidan, Manu Goswami, Anna Greenberg, Eric Humphrey, Taeku Lee, Adam Maze, Katherine Pak and Jakub Zielinski.