May 23, 1996
Vol. 15, No. 18

current issue
archive / search

    Winners of College teaching awards

    Donald Levine Malka Moscona The Amoco Foundation Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Teaching, established in 1992, recognizes special and distinctive achievement in the College over an extended period.

    Eric Caplan Hanna Gray James Hopson Sidney Nagel In 1938, an anonymous gift to the University created an endowment the purpose of which was unique in American higher education: a monetary award would be presented annually to faculty members in recognition of their excellence in teaching undergraduate students. The donor's anonymity technically prevailed for more than a decade, but in 1952, University Trustee Ernest Quantrell added to his gift, consented to be acknowledged as the donor and named the award for his parents. The Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is the nation's oldest prize for undergraduate teaching.

    Allison Abell Stanley Chang Mark Clague Alexis Dudden The Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prizes for Excellence in Teaching recognize the important contributions that graduate students make to the College. The winners are nominated by students and faculty members.