June 7, 2007
Vol. 26 No. 18

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Student leaders recognized for service contributions

    By Julia Morse
    News Office

    During Spring Quarter, the University Community Service Center, the College and the Office of the Reynolds Club and Student Activities honor a group of student leaders for their contributions to the campus and the community.

    The select students are recognized for contributing to campus life and the University community with either Student Leader Awards or Student Service Awards, recognizing those students who exhibit extraordinary social responsibility.

    The Student Marshals are chosen based on their academic records and strong commitment to their extracurricular activities.

    This year's Student Marshals are Padraic Bartlett, Matthew Beard, Stephanie Bell, Kira Bennett, Nishan Bingham, Susanna Cohen, Lilia Dobreva, Eve Ewing, Harriet Fertik, Marc Gasser, Luke Goetzke, Grant Gordon, William Harwell, Zachary Hill, Jamal Jones, Peter Kauffman, Helen Kendall, Nathaniel Klug, Irina Kogel, Prerna Kumar, Priyanka Kumar, Blake Langdon, Meredith Langstaff, Kenneth Lay, Nadine Levin, Amanda Machin, Johanna Magin, Amanda Markey, James Marrone, John Martin, Deborah Megdal, April Morton, Abigail Mulligan, Vanessa Pineros, Kaitlin Pomerantz, Andrew Quirk, Richard Reese, Zachary Rodgers, Emily Rowe, Anna Snoeyenbos, Erica Traut, Muhammad Waliji, Aaron Webman, Katherine Welham, Charles Wysong and Danielle Zheng.

    The Perry S. Herst Prize recognizes two graduating College seniors who have excelled in combining their educations with social responsibilities. This year, the Herst Prize was presented to Toby Kramer and Miranda Nelson.

    The Howell Murray Student Medals are one of the College’s highest honors, recognizing College graduating fourth-years who contributed exceptionally to the University through a plethora of co-curricular activities.

    The award is named in honor of alumnus Howell Murray (Ph.B.,’14), a University Trustee, and is presented by the Alumni Association.

    This year’s recipients were Philip Caruso, Courtney Douglas, Mairin Fogarty, William Fulton, Rubab Hasnie, Toby Kramer, Daniel Michaeli, Miranda Nelson, Alison Nemirow, Michael Pareles, Benjamin Potts, Elliot Powell, Sneha Ramakrishna, Alison Servi, Candace Wang and Bridget Wild.

    The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes two students who have exhibited a strong commitment to service in the greater community during the last school year. This year’s recipients are Gregory Cheyne and Jonathan Strysko.

    The Outstanding New Leader Award honors up to two College students in their first or second year who demonstrate outstanding leadership potential that is evident in their work with student groups and contributions to student life. These students have made exceptional contributions to their organization, assisting the organization in growth during the school year. This year’s winners are Sarah Bouchat and Matthew Kennedy.

    The Jane Morton and Henry C. Murphy Award honors outstanding students, including undergraduates who have made great contributions to the University and the University community. The winners this year are Renee Edwards, Ruth-Anne Whitfield and Tyler Zoanni.

    The Office of the Reynolds Club and Student Activities Excellence in Leadership Award recognizes graduating fourth-year students who have exhibited exceptional leadership skills while enrolled in the College. This year’s recipients are Alexandra Bratsafolis, Walter Conwell, Jack Jin (Gary) Lee, Katherine Michonski, Jessica Robbins, Andrew Stergachis, Petra Wade and Madeline Wirtz.

    Maroon Key Society recognizes second- and third-year College students who serve as advisors to the Dean of the College. Selected students are extremely active in co-curricular activities, have strong academic records and excel in communication.

    This year’s newly selected members are Nithya Anantharaman, Stephanie Bell, Scott Duncombe, Kumneger Emiru, Zachary Ergish, Eve Ewing, Bridget Fahey, Justin Fleming, Wendy Gonzalez, Grant Gordon, William Harwell, Ryan Kaminski, Daniel Kimerling, Blake Langdon, Luis Lara, Afshan Mohiuddin, Vanessa Pineros, Hollie Russon-Gilman, Matthew Siedlecki, Lindsey Thomson-Levin, Jessie Turnley-Neves, Danielle Zheng, Sarah Bouchat, Katie Buitrago, Aruj Chaudhry, Evan Cudworth, Samuel Gavzy, David Guyton, Andrew Hogue, Vikram Jambulapati, Matthew Kennedy, Anne Scherer, Amanda Wall and Ruth Anne Whitfield.