June 7, 2007
Vol. 26 No. 18

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Three University alumni elected to American Philosophical Society

    Three University alumni were recently elected as resident members of the American Philosophical Society at the society’s annual meeting in April.

    Receiving the honor were Stanley Lieberson (M.A., PhD.,’60), the Abbott Lawrence Lowell professor of sociology at Harvard University; Joseph Neubauer (M.B.A.,’65), executive chairman and chief executive officer of ARAMARK; and David Tatel (L.L.B. ’66), judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

    Neubauer and Tatel were inducted as Class 5 members in the section of the arts, professions, and leaders in public and private affairs, and Lieberson was inducted as a member of Class 3 for the section of social sciences.

    Benjamin Franklin founded the American Philosophical Society in 1743 for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.” The society is the oldest learned society in the United States and currently has 960 elected members.

    Since 1900, more than 260 members have received the Nobel Prize.