March 29, 2007
Vol. 26 No. 13

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed


    Erik Hurst, Professor in Economics and the Neubauer Family Faculty Fellow in the Graduate School of Business, has won the 2006 TIAA-CREF Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security for his article “Consumption versus Expenditure.” Hurst shares the award with co-author and former GSB faculty member, Mark Aguiar.

    The article, published in the Journal of Political Economy, argues that for retirees, expenditures are not a good indicator of household well-being. Hurst and Aguiar contend that when people retire, household expenditures decrease because retirees use their excess time to engage in more time intensive activities such as cooking meals at home, bargain shopping and coupon clipping; thus, household consumption actually remains constant.

    The award is given each year in recognition of an outstanding research publication that contains ideas the private and public sectors can use to maintain and improve Americans’ financial well-being. In the past seven years, five members of the GSB faculty have won the award.

    Marshall Lindheimer, Professor Emeritus in Obstetrics & Gynecology and Medicine, has been honored with a 2006 Hope Award for a Lifetime of Advocacy given by the Preeclampsia Foundation.

    Lindheimer is chair of the advisory board for the University’s National Institutes of Health-funded General Clinical Research Center. His clinical interests focus on the management of pregnant women with kidney disease and hypertension, while his research career has stressed renal physiology, volume homeostasis and blood-pressure control in normal and abnormal pregnancy.

    Lindheimer also is a consultant to the World Health Organization, participating in its Global Program to Conquer Preeclampsia and advising in the areas of clinical trials and the implementation of best-care policies in developing nations. He is one of the founders of the International Society for the Study of Hypertension in Pregnancy, having served both as its secretary-treasurer and president.

    The Preeclampsia Foundation, established in 2000, works to reduce maternal and infant illness and death due to preeclampsia, a disorder that occurs only during pregnancy and the postpartum period and affects both the mother and the unborn baby. Affecting at least 5 to 8 percent of all pregnancies, it is a rapidly progressive condition that affects many organ systems but is primarily characterized by high blood pressure and the presence of protein in the urine.

    W.J.T. Mitchell, the Gaylord Donnelley Distinguished Service Professor in English Language & Literature, Art History and the College, was named co-winner of the Modern Language Association’s 37th Annual James Russell Lowell Prize for his book What Do Pictures Want? The Lives and Loves of Images.

    The prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book written by a member of the association.

    A scholar and theorist of media, visual art and literature, and the editor of Critical Inquiry, Mitchell’s latest book is a collection of essays about issues and questions in visual studies, an examination of the powerful emotional response humans have to pictures and images.

    The MLA’s citation for the award states: “Applying rigorous and inventive strategies of analysis to a wide range of materials and media, writing with clarity and verve, eschewing system for restless thought and closure for piercing insight, Mitchell has produced a profoundly stimulating book.”

    The book, published by the University Press, is Mitchell’s 10th. Mitchell’s earlier book, Picture Theory, won the College Art Association’s Morey Prize for Art History in 1994. He is the only scholar to have won the major prizes of the professional associations for both literature and art history.

    Howard Sandroff, Senior Lecturer in Music and Director of the University’s Computer Music Studio, has been chosen as an American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Award recipient in the Concert Music Division.

    Sandroff works with both computers and electronics in live performances and has written pieces for soloists, mixed chamber ensembles and orchestras.

    ASCAPLUS Awards are granted by an independent panel and are based on each writer’s catalog of original compositions and recent performances. The award provides recognition to active writers in the early and mid-stages of their careers and/or established writers whose main activity is outside of broadcast media.