July 15, 1999
Vol. 18 No. 19

current issue
archive / search

    Faculty committee to advise Board of Trustees during presidential search

    After receiving nominations from faculty members, the Council of the University Senate has elected members to the Faculty Advisory Committee, which will aid a Board of Trustees committee in selecting President Sonnenschein’s successor.

    In a letter sent to students via e-mail, new Chairman of the Board of Trustees Edgar Jannotta wrote: “Mr. Sonnenschein has been an outstanding and distinguished president and the trustees are very grateful to him for his splendid leadership. Now the time has come for us to perform the most important task trustees have: choose a new president.”

    The Board of Trustees committee will review nominations for president with the advice of the Faculty Advisory Committee. Faculty members serving on the committee are Richard Epstein, the James Parker Hall Distinguished Service Professor in the Law School; Robert Pippin, the Raymond W. and Martha Hilpert Gruner Distinguished Service Professor on the Committee on Social Thought; Frank Richter, the Sewell L. Avery Distinguished Service Professor in Geophysical Sciences; Dr. Janet Rowley, the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor in Medicine, Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology and Human Genetics; Melvyn Shochet, the Elaine M. and Samuel D. Kersten Jr. Distinguished Service Professor in Physical Sciences; Dr. Donald Steiner, A.N. Pritzker Professor in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; and Robert Topel, the Isidore Brown and Gladys J. Brown Professor in the Graduate School of Business.

    The members of the Trustee Committee, which Jannotta will chair, are James Crown, Eric Gleacher, Parker Hall, Michael Klowden, Harvey Plotnick, Andrew Rosenfield, Steven Rothmeier, Richard Strubel and Paula Wolff.

    Jannotta also has asked the chairs of the 1992 Trustee and Faculty committees––Howard Krane, University Trustee, and Paul Hunter, the Barbara E. and Richard J. Franke Professor in English Language & Literature––to serve as ex officio members of their respective committees.

    Jannotta is seeking nominations from the broader University community, including faculty members, staff, trustees and friends. Letters of nomination may be sent to Jannotta, c/o Secretary of the Board of Trustees, 5801 S. Ellis Ave., Room 501, Chicago, IL 60637.