June 10, 1999
Vol. 18 No. 18

current issue
archive / search

    Graduate students receive the most Fulbrights

    This year, University graduate students surpassed last year’s record number of Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships by garnering 19 of the prestigious awards for the 1999-2000 academic year. It is the largest number of these fellowships received by University graduate students to date.

    Eleven graduate students in the Division of Social Sciences received Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships, while four students in the Division of the Humanities and four students in the Divinity School received the awards.

    Now for the 13th year, Chicago students have received the highest number of fellowships in this national competition that awards a total of 75 nationwide. Awarded by the U.S. Department of Education, the fellowships support Ph.D. research conducted in non-Western countries.

    The following graduate students have received Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships: Nabil Al-Tikriti and Snjezana Buzov, Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations; Bonnie Cheng and Ingrid Elliott, Art History; Joanne Cullinane, Laurie Frederik, Alex Golub, Jennifer Philpot, Shankar Ramaswami, Yvonne Sanders-Hamilton and Benjamin Zimmer, Anthropology; P.C. Hachten and Derek Wolff, History; Loren Lybarger, Psychology and Sociology of Religions in the Divinity School; Kelly Hayes, Katherine Ulrich and Robert Yelle, History of Religions in the Divinity School; Lynn Tesser, Political Science; and Ethan Michelson, Sociology.

    Chicago students also won numerous other prestigious awards, including the following:

    American Association of University Women fellowships went to Hulya Adak, Cynthia Klestinec, Hilary Poriss and Jean Tsao.

    A fellowship was presented by the American-Scandinavian Foundation Awards for Study in Scandinavia to Anthony Perron. He also received a Danish Research Academy Gaestestipendium award.

    Council for Advanced Studies in Peace and International Cooperation Fellowships were awarded to Patrick Eisenlohr, Cora Sol Goldstein, Paul Hanebrink, Anna Holian, Matthew Kocher, Jeffrey Mantz, Devin Pendas, Alexander Sackett Thompson and Genevieve Zubrizycki.

    University of Chicago/Germanic Academic Exchange Service awards were given to Neal Enssle, Derek Hastings, Daniel Riches, Timothy Rosenkoetter and Marta Tonegutti.

    The Josephine deKarman Fellowship was awarded to Ihor Junyk.

    Department of Defense Graduate Fellowships went to Jennifer Chen and Johanna Miller.

    A Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship was given to Lewis Dursi.

    A Feminist Studies Dissertation Fellowship was awarded to Anne Eaton.

    Ford Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellowships were presented to Roy Longrich, Rosemary Polanco and Yvonne Sanders-Hamilton.

    Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships for the summer were presented to Stephen Scott, Clare Sammells, Patrick Scott, Luis Nogales, Sean Mitchell, Whitney Cox, Blake Wentworth, Thomas Asher, Andrew Nicholson, Ernst Kirchner, Gabriel Robinson, Robert Moore, Melinda Pilling, Jason McGrath, Anna Bernstein, Mikael Wolfe and Justin Tiwald.

    Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships for the academic year were awarded to Stephen Scott, Clare Sammells, Luis Nogales, Thad Dunning, Guy Lavitt, Whitney Cox, Catherine Adcock, Blake Wentworth, Laura Freseman, Kara Stanek, Richard Burden, Kyla Brundage, Julie Christ, Jeffrey Martin and Viren Murthy.

    The Franke Institute for the Humanities Fellowships went to John Crespi, Andrew Hebard, Steven Heim, Joshua Phillips and Daniel Richter.

    Harper Dissertation Fellowships were awarded to Greg Anderson, Lewis Book, Andrew Crawford, Andrew Andoval-Strausz, Jonathan Schofer and Hylton White.

    Fellowships were presented by the International Research & Exchanges Board to Sarah Busse and Kim Gareiss.

    The Jacob K. Javits Fellowship was awarded to Crista Van Fleit.

    The Henry Luce Foundation awarded its Luce Scholarship to Justine Rosenthal.

    Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Dissertation-Year Fellowships were awarded to students in the following areas of study:

    Anthropology––David Tavarez.

    English––Andrew Hebard, Noel Jackson, Kavita Diya, Colleen Boggs, Michael Goode, Reid Cottingham, Jolynn Parker and Han Layson.

    History––Kathleen Frydl, Paul Hanebrink, Christine Haynes, Ihor Junyk, Sarah Pugach, Andrew Sandoval-Strausz, Alison Smith, David Tavarez and Mark Wilson.

    Philosophy––Martin Lin.

    Political Science––David Edelstein, Gretchen Helmke, Yanzhong Huang, Keir Lieber, Michael Neblo, Christopher Rohrbacher and Kamal Sadiq.

    National Research Service Awards were given to Jeanette Wei-Ling Chung and Laurel Spindel.

    National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grants were awarded to Brian Bettencourt, Amy Downing, Jordan Karubian, Tonia Korves, Catherine Price, Jonathan Shurin and Jean Tsao.

    National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships were presented to Jamie Anderson, Anna Bernstein, Michael Buice, Christopher Calderone, Jacinta Conrad, Maureen Dunne, Marci Gambrell, Spencer Hall, Lara Kammrath, Genevieve Lakier, Brian Lee, Nicholas Longrich, Phillip Lynch, David McCabe, Alexander Montgomery, John Osburg, Shanan Peters, Theodore Ronnigen, Itai Seggev, Namita Sugandhi and Gillian Zaharias.

    Charlotte W. Newcombe Dissertation Fellowships were awarded to Matthew Hull, Michelle Mason and Dawne Moon.

    Rome Prizes were presented to William Stull and Ann Marie Yasin.

    The Sawyer Graduate Fellowship went to Joanna Lowenstein.

    Searle Fund of the Chicago Community Trust Dissertation Fellowships were awarded to Jadwiga Ewa Furdyna, Carolyn Hill, Andrew Hostelter and Erica Reischer.

    The Social Science Research Council’s Eurasia Program Dissertation Fellowship was awarded to Michael David.

    The SSRC International Dissertation Field Research Fellowship was awarded to Ethan Michelson.

    The SSRC International Pre-Dissertation Fellowship was given to Randall Horton.

    The SSRC Sexuality Research Dissertation Fellowships went to Kimberley Reilly and Margaret Rensenbrink.

    The Spencer Dissertation Fellowship for Research Related to Education was awarded to Dorthea Anagnostopoulos.

    USIA/IIE Fulbright grants for research abroad, which are awarded by the U.S. Information Agency, went to Geoff Bartakovics, Benjamin Curtis, Alexander Dehgan, Adam Jolles, Anthony Perron, Meredith Ray and Lynn Tesser.

    Whiting Fellowships were received by Lisa Deam, Stefani Englestein, Amanda Ewington, Ana Galucio, Courtney Gilbert, Paul Heck, Suzanne Magnanini and Yiqun Zhou.