April 15, 1999
Vol. 18 No. 14

current issue
archive / search

    American Astronomical Society names new writing prize after the late scientist David Schramm

    The American Astronomical Society’s High Energy Astrophysics Division has named its new writing prize for science journalism after the late David Schramm, a distinguished University scientist who is widely regarded as the founder of the field of particle astrophysics, a discipline where cosmology and particle physics meet. The prize will be called the David Schramm Award for High Energy Astrophysics Science Journalism.

    Schramm joined the Chicago faculty in 1974. He was the Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in the Physical Sciences and Vice President for Research at the time of his death in a twin-engine airplane crash in December 1997. He also was chair of the Board on Physics and Astronomy of the National Academy of Sciences and an active member of numerous professional societies, including the AAS.

    The purpose of the newly created award is to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on high-energy astrophysics, according to an announcement from the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the AAS. High-energy astrophysics incorporates experimental and theoretical studies of high-energy photons and particles from the cosmos, including the disciplines of X-ray, gamma-ray and cosmic-ray astronomy.

    The award will be presented every 18 months. The winning journalist will receive a $1,000 prize and a plaque. The publisher of the winning work will receive a certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared. The first award will be presented at the next meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division, tentatively scheduled for November 2000 in Honolulu.