April 15, 1999
Vol. 18 No. 14

current issue
archive / search

    Goldwater scholars are named

    By Jennifer Leovy
    News Office

    Three University students have been named Barry M. Goldwater scholars––third-year Sarah Bagby and second-years Matthew Gealy and Andrew Tolland.

    The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Sen. Goldwater and to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering.

    The scholarship covers expenses for tuition, fees, books and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500 annually. Students receive funding each year for the remainder of college.

    Working in the lab of Phoebe Rice, Assistant Professor in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Bagby is a biochemistry concentrator intent on solving an integrated, host factor crystal structure for her B.S. project. A member of the College Bowl team, she also tutors at the Blue Gargoyle Volunteer Bureau and was a Chicago Orientation Aide last fall.

    Gealy plans to concentrate in mathematics. Currently, his research involves studying number games, magic squares and Latin squares for Paul Sally, Professor in Mathematics. His goal is to develop a progressive teaching method for mathematics. He is also a member of the College Bowl team.

    Tolland is a physics concentrator who has most recently performed research for David Oxtoby, Dean of the Division of the Physical Sciences, based on an extension of Oxtoby’s new theory describing nucleation processes that occur during phase transitions. He is a member of the Ryerson Astronomical Society and the Gymnastics Club.