January 21, 1999
Vol. 18 No. 8

current issue
archive / search


    Thomas Christensen, Professor in Music, has been elected president of the Society for Music Theory. Christensen, who joined the University this month, will serve a two-year term beginning in November.

    The Society of Music Theory, with approximately 1,000 members, is the only national society dedicated to scholarship in the fields of music theory and analysis.

    Randal Picker, the Paul and Theo Leffmann Professor of Commercial Law in the Law School, was elected to serve on the Association of American Law Schools’ Executive Committee.

    The AALS, a voluntary membership organization of 162 law schools, was organized almost 100 years ago to improve the legal profession through legal education.

    Picker, who has been a faculty member since 1989, served as Associate Dean from 1994 to 1996.

    Picker’s primary areas of interest are the laws relating to capital formation and redeployment, regulated industries and antitrust, and application of game theory to the law.