June 11, 1998
Vol. 17, No. 18

current issue
archive / search

    Graduate students lead nation in Fulbright awards

    University graduate students continued to perform exceptionally well in national fellowship competitions this year, once again receiving the top number of Fulbright-Hays Fellowships in the nation.

    Eight Chicago students received the prestigious Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships for 1998-99, tying Harvard for the most given to students from a single institution. This is the 11th time in the last 12 years that Chicago students have received the highest number of Fulbright-Hays awards. A total of 75 students nationwide receive the fellowships, which are awarded by the U.S. Department of Education to support Ph.D. research in non-Western countries.

    The Fulbright-Hays Fellowships were awarded to Anne Falby Broadbridge, Sandra Collins, Amanda Ewington, Gregory Grieve, Noor-Aiman Khan, James Smith, Joanna Trzeciak and Richard Weiss.

    Chicago students also won numerous other prestigious awards, including the following:

    Charlotte W. Newcombe Dissertation Fellowships were presented to Nils Fiskesjo, Anna Gade, Sher-shiueh Li and Lisa Moses.

    A CBS Bicentennial Narrators Scholarship went to Lauren Brubaker.

    USIA/IIE Fulbright grants for research abroad, which are awarded by the U.S. Information Agency, went to Mark Blackbird, Elizabeth Garland, Courtney Gilbert, Michael Provence, Brian Schwegler, Jesse Shipley and David Tancredi.

    National Science Foundation Fellowships went to Andrew Arsham, Allison Beck, Sean Crosson, Aretha Fiebig, Julie Gruetzmacher, Oliver Homann, Eugene Hunt, Jonathan Marcot, John Pfaff and Sudheer Shukla.

    Mellon Foundation Dissertation-Year Fellowships were given to the following students in the following areas: English -- Jennifer Adams, Samuel Baker, William Dotson, Michelle Jensen, Devin Johnston, Rolland Murray, Amparo Padilla and Jonathan Sachs; History -- David Churchill, Melissa Feinberg, Sarah Hodges, Erica Peters, Stephen Provasnik, Diana Snigurowicz, Paul Steege and R. Andre Wakefield; Philosophy -- Mark Jenkens and Barbara Montero; Political Science -- Neil Brenner, Elise Giuliano, Robert James Jr., Eric MacGilvray, Andrew Rehfeld, Mark Sawyer and Eugene Wolfe.

    Kathleen Frydl received a Spencer Foundation Dissertation Fellowship for Research Related to Education.

    CIC Foreign Language Enhancement Program awards went to Amishi Desai, Alan Durston, Gregory Grieve, Mark Hinchman, James Kessler, Sheetal Majithia, Kara Stanek and Blake Wentworth.

    Council for Advanced Studies in Peace and International Cooperation Fellowships were awarded to Brian Portnoy, Kamal Sadiq, Pieter Van Houten and Leticia Veloso.

    A DAAD (German Academic Exchange) Fellowship went to Cora Goldstein.

    A Delores Liebmann Fellowship was awarded to Robert Hawley. A Dwight D. Eisenhower/Clifford Roberts Graduate Fellowship was presented to Melissa Feinberg, and Paul Magwene won a Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship.

    Tom Hill was awarded a Georges Lurcy Fellowship, and Rebecca DeRoo received a Josephine deKarman Fellowship.

    Illinois Consortium for Equal Opportunity Program awards went to Carlos Hernandez and Rory Johnson.

    American Association of University Women awards were given to Amy Driskell and Eugenie Hunsicker, and a Center for Arabic Study Abroad Fellowship was awarded to Laura Freseman.

    Chicago Humanities Institute Fellowships were presented to Samuel Baker, Pi-yen Chen and Radcliffe Edmonds.

    Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships for the academic year were awarded to Catherine Adcock, Richard Burden, Joanne Cullinane, Alan Durston, Jennifer Higgins, Jenny Huberman, Eric Johnson, Patti Kameya, Guy Leavitt, Christopher Livaccari, Jocelyn Marrow, Luis Nogales, Ana Maria Reyes, Clare Sammells, Stephen Scott, Kara Stanek and Blake Wentworth. Adcock, Burden, Durston, Sammells, Stanek and Wentworth were also awarded Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships for the summer, as were Jovita Baber, Hector Garcia, Gregory Grieve, Shankar Ramaswami, Matthew Roy and David Sena.

    NASA Graduate Student Research Program Fellowships went to Erik Reese and John Vaillancourt, and a National Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada award went to Adam Oberman.

    P. Zachery Egan was awarded a Robert Bosch Fellowship for study in Germany.

    Bernard Smaller Prizes were given to Hania Al-Hallaq, Tammie Benzinger and Benjamin Williams. A Wenner-Gren Foundation award went to Ilana Gershon.

    Eight students received Whiting Fellowships: Yigal Bronner, Clifton Callender, Jeanette Denton, Elaine Jones, Christopher Lehrich, Feng Li, David Millett and Rachet Zuckert.

    Harper Dissertation Fellowships were handed out to Nancy Forde, Julie Gifford, Spencer Kelly, Grigory Khasin, Geoffrey Klingsporn, Catherine Price and Richard Wang.

    Satie Airame and Sarah Lyons both won Environmental Protection Agency Fellowships, and Javits Fellowships went to Richard Jankowski and Holly Swyers.