June 11, 1998
Vol. 17, No. 18

current issue
archive / search

    Celebrating 7,489 years of service to University

    Off-Off Campus performed a comedy skit and chamber music was provided by the Golden Quartet at this year's 25 Year Club reception. The annual event honors University employees with 25 or more years of consecutive service.

    President Sonnenschein congratulated the crowd for their 7,489 combined years of service and presented watches to the 26 new members of the club, bringing the total to 250.

    Sonnenschein also gave gold business-card holders to the club's board of trustees, 10 employees who have worked for the University for 40 years or more. The trustees are Alice Chandler, President's Office; Mary Halaburt, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; William Jemison, Library; Charles Kung, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Barbara Perkins, PSD Local Business Center; Donald Poder, Central Procurement; Lesley Robertson, Animal Resources Center; Maxine Sullivan, Registrar's Office; Joseph Wheeler, University Police; and Harold White, Facilities Services.

    As is customary, a new club president was selected from the board of trustees. Joseph Wheeler, president of the club for the 1997-98 academic year, turned the gavel over to Alice Chandler, who has been a University staff member for 53 years, longer than any other current employee.

    New members of the 25 Year Club

    Edwin Adams, Press Clarita Ares, Comptroller's Office Emil Baciu, Networking Services Marva Bell, Library Junelle Bester, Networking Services Geraldine Cunningham, Social Sciences Carole Demack, BSD Human Resources Restituto Dizon, Animal Resources Center Marilyn Duran, Cancer Research Harvey Dytch, OB/GYN Jane Gilpin, Statistics Janice Gyure, Pharmacological & Physiological Sciences Jean Kimble, Lab Schools Janet Mather, Library Shirley McClinton, College Teresita Mendoza, Chemistry Casey Murray, Comptroller's Office Giridher Reddy, Pediatrics Robert Shirrell, Press Myrtle Sims, GSB Robert Smentek, Comptroller's Office Mel Von Smith-Mathis, Graham School Olga Svejkovska, Library James Turner, Facilities Services Robert Vonderohe, Provost's Office Harold Williams, Residence Halls & Commons