Nov. 6, 1997
Vol. 17, No. 4

current issue
archive / search


    Philip Eaton, Professor in Chemistry, has received the 1997 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award. The award is presented each year by the American Chemical Society, the world's largest scientific society. Eaton was recognized for his pioneering work in a "new kind of chemistry," including the creation of a cube of carbon atoms -- an achievement long thought to be impossible.

    Benjamin Glick, Assistant Professor in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology, has been selected as a 1997 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences. The honor, conferred by the Pew Charitable Trusts, carries with it $200,000 of research funding over a four-year period.

    George Hillocks, Professor in Education and English and an expert on writing, has received the 1997 David H. Russell Research Award from the National Council of Teachers of English. The award, one of the highest honors for scholarly contribution to the field of teaching English, will be presented Nov. 22. Hillocks was recognized for his book Teaching Writing as Reflective Practice (1995).

    Dan Lortie, Professor Emeritus in Education, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Education. Lortie was recognized for his contribution to the field, including the publication of such influential books as Schoolteacher: A Sociological Study (1975). He was also director for many years of the Midwest Administration Center, a research center at the Department of Education devoted to studying school administration.

    Stuart Rice has been awarded the Centennial Medal of Harvard's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Rice, the Frank P. Hixon Distinguished Service Professor in the James Franck Institute, was recognized for his lifetime achievements in science.

    Four graduate students in economics and mathematics have been awarded Alfred P. Sloan Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships. Marco Bassetto, Alexander Monge and Adriano Rampini, all students in economics, and mathematics student Andrew Kresch are among only 25 students in each discipline throughout the United States to receive these fellowships.