May 15, 1997
Vol. 16, No. 17

current issue
archive / search


    Takeshi Oka, the Robert A. Millikan Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry and Astronomy & Astrophysics, has received the William F. Meggers Award for outstanding work in spectroscopy. The award, given by the Optical Society of America, recognizes Oka's work in experimental and theoretical high resolution molecular spectroscopy.

    Eugene Parker, the S. Chandrasekhar Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus in Physics and Astronomy & Astrophysics, has received the 1997 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal. The award, presented by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, is given for distinguished contributions to the field of astronomy over the recipient's lifetime.

    Marshall Sahlins, the Charles F. Grey Distinguished Service Professor in Anthropology, has been elected the Huxley Memorial Lecturer and Medalist for 1998. The lectureship is the highest honor given by the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.

    Joshua Scodel, Associate Professor in English Language & Literature, has received the Donne Society Award for Distinguished Publication in Donne Studies for 1995. Scodel was honored for his essay "John Donne and the Religious Politics of the Mean."

    Daniel Shannon, Dean of the Graham School of General Studies, has received the Julius M. Nolte Award for Extraordinary Leadership from the University Continuing Education Association. The award, the association's highest honor, recognizes unusual and extraordinary contributions to the cause of continuing education on the regional, national and/or international level.

    The Smart Museum received an honorable mention in the American Association of Museums' annual design competition. The award was given for the exhibition catalogue Literary Objects: Flaubert. The Smart Museum is the only museum in Chicago to win a prize in this category and one of only two university museums nationwide to be so honored.