May 1, 1997
Vol. 16, No. 16

current issue
archive / search

    Mellon Fellowships awarded to five College students

    University ties for second-highest number received Two College seniors and three recent graduates are among 85 recipients of 1997 Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships in Humanistic Studies. The fellowships are awarded by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

    Chicago claimed the second-highest number of Mellon Fellowships this year, a distinction it shared with Duke and Yale. Harvard led with six winners, while Princeton and Stanford each had four.

    The fellows, chosen for their exceptional academic promise, were selected from more than 800 applicants from throughout the United States and Canada.

    The Chicago fellows and their fields of study are College seniors Agnes Gellen (philosophy) and Michael Hurwitz (English literature) and recent graduates Adam Breindel (classics), Eve Buckley (history of science) and Maurice Pomerantz (history).

    The Mellon Fellowships in Humanistic Studies provide financial support for the first year of graduate study at any U.S. or Canadian graduate school. The stipend for the new fellows in the 1997-98 academic year will be $13,750; the program also covers tuition and fees.

    The Mellon Fellowships were instituted in 1983 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation in an effort to attract many of the country's ablest college graduates to careers in higher education. Since then, more than 1,500 Mellon Fellowships have been awarded. The Woodrow Wilson Foundation designs and operates a variety of programs to encourage excellence in American education.