April 17, 1997
Vol. 16, No. 15

current issue
archive / search

    Guggenheims awarded to six on faculty

    Six faculty members -- Albert Alschuler, Jeffrey Bluestone, Miriam Hansen, Gilbert Herdt, Boaz Keysar and Marvin Makinen -- have been named Guggenheim fellows by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

    The University has the second highest number of faculty members awarded Guggenheim fellowships this year, tied with UCLA and surpassed only by Harvard, which received seven awards.

    The foundation awarded the fellowships to 164 scholars, artists and scientists based on unusually distinguished achievement and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. The winners were chosen from 2,876 applicants and will share fellowship awards totaling $4.9 million.

    Alschuler, the Wilson-Dickinson Professor and Arnold and Frieda Shure Scholar in the Law School, will research Oliver Wendall Holmes and the decline of rights. Bluestone, the Charles B. Huggins Professor in the Biological Sciences Division and Director of the Ben May Institute, will study models of peripheral tolerance and anergy.

    Hansen, the Ferdinand Schevill Distinguished Service Professor in the Humanities, will research the Frankfurt School on film and mass culture, and Herdt, Professor in Psychology, will study ritual rebirth in Sambia initiation. Keysar, Associate Professor in Psychology, will study knowledge in language use, and Makinen, Professor in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, will research magnetic resonance studies of metallo-ribozymes.