Feb. 6, 1997
Vol. 16, No. 10

current issue
archive / search

    Soccer heads Reifert, O'Connor named Coaches of the Year

    Chicago's Head Men's Soccer Coach John O'Connor and Head Women's Soccer Coach Amy Reifert have been named NCAA Division III Coaches of the Year in their respective sports by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The award is sponsored by NSCAA/Umbro.

    The selection of O'Connor and Reifert marks the first time in the history of the award that men's and women's coaches from the same school have been honored in the same year.

    "The University could not be more proud of the accomplishments of coaches O'Connor and Reifert," said Tom Weingartner, Associate Professor and Chairman of Physical Education & Athletics. "An extraordinary number of our faculty have been named conference coaches of the year over the past several years, but to receive recognition on a national level further underscores the quality of leadership that these coaches provide to their athletes. Finally, their successes confirm our belief that the University of Chicago can and will be successful in the sport of soccer."

    Both O'Connor and Reifert led their teams(to the 1996 NCAA Division III final four, the teams' first-ever post-season appearances.

    Reifert led the women's team to a school-record 16 victories and its second University Athletic Association title in three years. She was named UAA coach of the year for the third time in her six-year tenure.

    Under O'Connor, the men's team posted a school-record 15 victories and captured second place in the UAA. In addition to being named Coach of the Year, O'Connor was chosen to coach in the second annual Umbro Select College All-Star Classic, held from Jan. 30 through Feb. 2 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.