June 8, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 19

current issue
archive / search

    Top academic awards to College students

    Rhodes Scholarships, Fulbright grants, the Henry Luce Foundation Award, and Ford Foundation and National Science Foundation fellowships were among the numerous awards received this year by graduating College students and recent graduates.

    Among the students who received national and international awards are:

    _ Jonathan Beere and Meiling Hazelton, who were awarded Rhodes Scholarships to support study at Oxford University. Beere was also awarded a National Science Foundation Fellowship.

    _ Amit Sevak (A.B./A.M.'94), who won the Henry Luce Foundation Award for a year of study in an Asian country.

    _ John Tresch, who received the Gaylord Donnelley Chicago/Cambridge Exchange Scholarship for study at Cambridge University for one year.

    _ Cassandra Snedden, who was awarded a Howard Hughes Doctoral Fellowship in the Biological Sciences and an NSF Fellowship.

    The following awards were also granted:

    Mellon Fellowships in the Humanities were awarded to Anna Ivy (A.B.'94) and Anthony Perron (A.B.'94). The fellowships, which are co-sponsored by the Mellon Foundation and selected universities around the country, support the first year of graduate studies for students studying in North America.

    Medical Scientist Training Program fellowships, federally funded, six-year awards for work toward both an M.D. and a Ph.D., were awarded to Marc Dubin and Andrew Hack.

    National Science Foundation Fellowships, for three years of graduate work in the physical and social sciences, were presented to Lori Allen, Matthew Leingang, James Magnuson, Rachel Massey, John Newman, Jonas Peters and Christopher Strawn, as well as to Beere and Snedden.

    PICAS grants (Program for Inter-Institutional Collaboration in Area Studies) were given to Karrie Kohlhaas, Esther Lam, Jenny Lin, Elizabeth Nazarian, Nathaniel Sands, Jessica Sebeok and Hi-Joo Son.

    Ford Foundation Research Fellowships were presented to Amy Aukerman, Stacey Chrisanti, John Daley, Daniel Riches, Imran Siddiqui and Anne Tully. The fellowships are awarded for summer research leading to a B.A. paper.

    International Traveling Research Fellowships, awards for summer research abroad, were given to Brian Furner, Ami Harper, Carey Luff and Melody Owen.

    Fulbright grants, federally funded awards for study, teaching or special projects abroad, were presented to Christopher Strawn and Matthew Parkinson.

    National Endowment for the Humanities "Younger Scholars" grants, federally funded grants for a nine-week summer research project at the University, were awarded to Nathanael Crawford, Benjamin Lord, Benjamin Martin and Christopher Uphouse.

    A Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, awarded to an undergraduate committed to a career in mathematics or the natural sciences, was awarded to Michelle Povinelli.

    An Armed Forces Scholarship was given to Dmitri Cassimatis.

    A Raoul Wallenberg Scholarship was awarded to Sourna Daneshvar.