June 8, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 19

current issue
archive / search


    Julie Saville, Associate Professor in History, received the 1995 Avery O. Craven Award from the Organization of American Historians for her book The Work of Reconstruction: From Slave to Wage Laborer in South Carolina, 1860-1870. The award, which includes a $1,000 prize, is presented for the most original book concerning the Civil War, with the exception of military history books.

    David Schramm, Louis Block Professor in Physical Sciences, was recently elected to the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. Schramm was one of the two U.S. citizens elected to the academy this year. The academy is the equivalent of the National Academy of Sciences in the United States.

    Lawrence Sita, Assistant Professor in Chemistry, has been named a 1995 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar. Sita was cited for his "outstanding scientific accomplishments" and his "continuing dedication to education of students at all levels."

    Donald Bogue, Professor Emeritus in Sociology, received the 1995 Robert J. Lapham Award from the Population Association of America. The award is given for "distinguished achievements or careers that combine contributions to population research, the application of demographic knowledge to improve the human condition, and service to the population profession."

    George Chauncey, Assistant Professor in History, has won the 1995 Frederick Jackson Turner Award for his book Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture and the Making of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940. The award, presented by the Organization of American Historians, is given for an author's first book on a significant phase of American history and includes a $1,000 prize.

    Jack Halpern, Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry, received the American Chemical Society's Award in Organometallic Chemistry. Halpern was cited for his "creative and scholarly work in the elucidation of the mechanisms of organometallic catalysis." The award includes a $5,000 prize.

    Halpern also received the Henry J. Albert Award from the International Precious Metals Institute. He was cited for his "research contributions to the understanding of precious metals chemistry." The award includes a $3,000 prize.

    Rashid Khalidi, Associate Professor in History and Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations, has been invited by the Rockefeller Foundation for a one-month residency at the foundation's Study and Conference Center in Bellagio, Italy, this summer. The residency has been granted for Khalidi to work on the manuscript of a book titled Palestinian Identity: The Genesis of Modern National Consciousness.

    Joseph Kirsner, Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in Medicine, was invested in the "Order of Lincoln" last month for his contributions to the field of gastroenterology. The honor was granted by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois, a nonpartisan organization that honors individuals whose contributions to the betterment of mankind have been accomplished in or on behalf of the state of Illinois.

    Devkumar Mustafi, Research Associate (Assistant Professor) in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, has received the first Young Investigator Award from the International Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) Society. The award recognizes young scientists for their contributions in the field of EPR spectroscopy.

    Anne Walters Robertson, Associate Professor and Chairman of Music, has received the 1995 John Nicholas Brown Prize for her book The Service-Books of the Royal Abbey of Saint-Denis: Images of Ritual and Music in the Middle Ages. The award is presented for an outstanding first book in the field of medieval studies.

    Robert Sampson, Professor in Sociology, has been awarded the 1995 Outstanding Book Award from the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. The award, presented for the best book published in the area of criminal justice within the past three years, was given for Crime in the Making: Pathways and Turning Points Through Life, which Sampson wrote with John Laub.