April 13, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 15

current issue
archive / search


    Christine Cassel (A.B.'67), the George M. Eisenberg Professor in Medicine and in the Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies, is the new president-elect of the American College of Physicians. When she assumes office as president in April 1996, she will be the first female president in the organization's history.

    Randolph Stone, Clinical Professor in the Law School and Director of the Mandel Legal Aid Clinic, received the Walter J. Cummings Award in recognition of excellence in legal advocacy by appointed counsel in the U.S. District Court before the Northern District of Illinois. The annual award was presented by the Chicago chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

    First-year College student Shahla Bolbolan was named All-American in the shot put at the NCAA Division III Championships. Bolbolan finished fourth at the meet with a University-record throw of 13.12 meters. She is the first women's indoor track and field All-American in the University's history.

    The University's Model United Nations Team won the Best Delegation distinction for the seventh consecutive year at the Harvard National Model United Nations conference. Chicago has won the title more times in a row than any other university in the conference's 40-year history.