Feb. 2, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 11

current issue
archive / search

    New NAE members include two on faculty

    Total of 15 from Chicago belong to academy Two University faculty members, Anthony Bryk and Christopher Jencks, have been named members of the National Academy of Education. Their election brings to 15 the number of faculty members at Chicago who are members of the academy.

    Bryk is Professor in Education and Director of the Center for School Improvement at the University. Through a pro bono contribution of his time by the University, this year Bryk is also serving as adviser to the general superintendent of Chicago Public Schools.

    Bryk's research focuses on the social organization of schools and how schools can be made into more productive workplaces for students and teachers. He is also a widely recognized expert on educational statistics.

    He is co-author of several books, including Hierarchical Linear Models: Applications and Data Analysis Methods (1992) and Catholic Schools and the Common Good (1993). The latter, a book that examines the success of Catholic high schools, won the American Sociological Association's Willard Wallard Award for the best book in the Sociology of Education between 1991 and 1993.

    A University faculty member since 1984, Bryk previously was on the faculty at Harvard, where he received his Ed.D. in 1977. He received his B.S. in 1970 from Boston College.

    Jencks is Visiting Professor in the Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies. He is on leave from Northwestern, where he is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Sociology and Urban Affairs.

    A renowned scholar of social policy, Jencks addresses in his work issues of income inequality, poverty and social mobility. His book Inequality (1972) explores the role of education in altering the distribution of income; it won the American Sociological Association's Sorokin Award for the best book in sociology in 1974. His recent books include Rethinking Social Policy: Race, Poverty and the Underclass (1992) and The Homeless (1994).

    Jencks has been on the faculty at Northwestern since 1979 and previously served on the faculty at Harvard. He received his A.B. in 1958 and his M.Ed. in 1959 from Harvard. He did graduate work in sociology at the London School of Economics from 1960 to 1961.

    The president of the NAE is Carl Kaestle, who joined the University faculty this quarter as Professor in Education. Other University faculty members who belong to the academy are Gary Becker, Charles Bidwell, Benjamin Bloom, Francis Chase, James Coleman, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Robert Dreeben, Jacob Getzels, Hanna Gray, Cyril Houle, Philip Jackson and Theodore Schultz.