Jan. 19, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 10

current issue
archive / search


    Allen Debus, the Morris Fishbein Professor in History, has received the Sarton Medal from the History of Science Society. The medal is given annually to a scholar in the history of science who has, over the course of her or his career, made lasting and significant contributions to the field.

    Froma Walsh, Professor in the School of Social Service Administration, has received the 1995 Award for Distinguished Contribution to Family Therapy Theory and Practice. The award, presented by the American Family Therapy Academy, is the highest honor in the field, recognizing significant achievement over the course of the recipient's career.

    J. Terry Ernest, Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology & Visual Science, has received a grant of $100,000 from Research to Prevent Blindness. The grant will support a broad range of vision research in the department, including studies on color vision and retinal and visual cortex organization. It will also support the development of the department's retinal transplantation program.

    Amy Howley Reifert, Head Women's Soccer Coach, has been named the NSCAA/Umbro Regional Coach of the Year. Reifert, who also was named the UAA Coach of the Year, guided the Maroons to their first-ever UAA title this past season.