Jan. 19, 1995
Vol. 14, No. 10

current issue
archive / search

    Four faculty members elected AAAS Fellows

    Four University faculty members have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

    Robert Clayton, the Enrico Fermi Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry, was cited for "distinguished contributions to spectrometric studies of the isotopic composition of meteorites and lunar and terrestrial rocks, which have shed important light on the origin and evolution of the solar system."

    Robert Michael, the Eliakim Hastings Moore Distinguished Service Professor in the Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies, was honored for "research in economics of the family, particularly investments in children, family structure and stability, and nonmarket effects of education, and for leadership in survey research."

    James Shapiro, Professor in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, was cited for "innovative and creative interpretations of bacterial genetics and growth, especially the action of mobile genetic elements and the formation of bacterial colonies."

    Robert Wissler, the Donald N. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus in Pathology, was honored for "pioneering studies of the pathogenesis, progression and regression of atherosclerosis in experimental animals, in vitro and in young people."

    The new Fellows will be recognized on Feb. 18 at the AAAS annual meeting in Atlanta.