Aug. 18, 1994
Vol. 14, No. 2

current issue
archive / search

    Stell new Assistant to Provost, Deputy Dean, CCMI Director

    Kathryn Stell has been appointed Assistant to the Provost, Deputy Dean of Students and Director of the Coordinating Council for Minority Issues (CCMI) by Provost Geoffrey Stone. The appointment was based on the recommendation of a search committee. Stell had served as Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Public Service Placement at the Law School for the past five years.

    "Kathy Stell has been an able and enthusiastic administrator at the Law School. She brings invaluable experience to her new position," Stone said. "I'm confident that as Director of CCMI she will advance the mission of the council to help add greater diversity throughout our university."

    The Coordinating Council for Minority Issues works to intensify support systems among minority students at the University, with a special emphasis on coordinating minority-student recruitment across the graduate divisions. The group also works to help all faculty, staff and students become more sensitive to the minority experience at the University.

    Composed of 15 administrators from different University departments, CCMI was organized in 1987 in response to the 1985 report issued by the Faculty Committee on Minority Concerns. The report outlined problems related to the admission, enrollment and retention of African-American students.

    Since the council was established, its actions have included increasing support for the minority orientation program for College students and creating a mentor program for minority students.

    A graduate of the Laboratory Schools, Stell received her A.B. in 1982 from Harvard and her J.D. in 1986 from Chicago. She was an associate at two law firms in Los Angeles before joining the University as Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Public Service Placement at the Law School in 1989.

    Other current members of CCMI include Lois Stein, Dean of Students in the Social Sciences Division; Thomas Thuerer, Dean of Students in the Humanities Division; Norma Wagoner, Dean of Students in the Biological Sciences Division and the Pritzker School of Medicine; Andre Phillips, Associate Director of College Admissions; and Ann Malen, Experiential Education & Job Development Coordinator in Career & Placement Services. The complete list of council members for the 1994-95 academic year will be announced in the fall.