June 9, 1994
Vol. 13, No. 20

current issue
archive / search

    University dissertation fellowships awarded to 17

    Seventeen Chicago graduate students have been awarded University dissertation fellowships. Eight students received Whiting Fellowships in the Humanities, two students were awarded Chicago Humanities Institute Fellowships, six students won Harper Dissertation Fellowships, and one student received the inaugural Walter and Carol Blair Fellowship. All of the awards include tuition and a stipend for one year.

    The Whiting Fellowships, which are given to doctoral students in their final dissertation year, were awarded to Lisa Brawley, Berna Eden, Ikumi Kaminishi, Amelia Kaplan, Michael McGrade, Marlis Saleh, Angela Sorby and Andrew Wolpert. The grants are awarded by a faculty committee and are underwritten by the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation to support "the most promising scholars in their fields designated by each participating university."

    Chicago Humanities Institute Fellowships were awarded to Daniel Smith and Katherine van Orden. The recipients of the CHI Fellowships, which parallel the Whiting Fellowships, are selected by the faculty governing board of the institute.

    Harper Dissertation Fellowships, which are given to students in the divisions or in the Divinity School who are within 12 to 18 months of finishing their dissertations, were awarded to Thomas Carlson, Edward Castle, Grace Kao, Dale Pesmen, Thomas Schulenberg and Peter Wagner. Students are nominated by faculty members, and the grants are awarded by a faculty committee. This is the only dissertation-fellowship competition within the University that spans all the divisions.

    The Walter and Carol Blair Fellowship, given to an American-literature student in her or his final dissertation year, was awarded to Peter Sattler. The fellowship was endowed by the estate of Walter and Carol Blair. Walter Blair, who was Professor Emeritus in English Language & Literature and a noted authority on American humor and folklore, died in 1992.