June 9, 1994
Vol. 13, No. 20

current issue
archive / search


    Bernice Neugarten, Professor Emeritus in Psychology (Human Development), has won the American Psychological Foundation Gold Medal Award for Life Contribution by a Psychologist in the Public Interest. She will receive the medal at the annual convention of the American Psychological Association in Los Angeles in August.

    Ole Kleppa, Professor Emeritus in Chemistry, has been awarded the Hume-Rothery Medal by the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society. The award recognizes outstanding scholarly contributions to the science of alloys. Kleppa received the medal and was the keynote speaker at a symposium in his honor in March.

    The Harriet Monroe Poetry Award for 1994 has been awarded to Adrienne Rich, author of the recently published "Poems 1988-1991." Established by Harriet Monroe, editor of "Poetry: A Magazine of Verse," the $1,000 prize is awarded to an "American poet of distinction or of distinguished promise." Past winners include Marianne Moore, Wallace Stevens and Allen Ginsberg. Candidates for the Monroe Award are selected by a committee of their peers; this year's committee was chaired by Richard Stern, the Helen A. Regenstein Professor in English Language & Literature.