March 31, 1994
Vol. 13, No. 14

current issue
archive / search


    N.C. Yang, the Gustavus F. and Ann M. Swift Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry, has been elected one of the first two Scientific Fellows of the Inter-American Photochemical Society. Yang was honored for his achievement in the field and for his "contributions to the early conceptual and experimental foundations of organic photochemistry."

    Michael Wilson, who teaches a combined first- and second-grade class at the Laboratory Schools, is one of 10 Chicago-area elementary-school teachers to receive a Golden Apple Award. The Golden Apple Foundation, which makes the awards, said Wilson "connects learning to real life and deftly weaves together the disciplines." WTTW/Channel 11 will broadcast a program on the awards on Thursday, May 26, and Sunday, May 29.

    Anne Borchert has been named Director of Development for International House. Borchert, who is currently Associate Director of Annual Funds for the University's Development Office, will succeed Harriet Clowes when she retires at the end of this academic year.