March 31, 1994
Vol. 13, No. 14

current issue
archive / search

    Seven on faculty elected to Academy of Arts & Sciences

    Seven University faculty members have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among the 184 new Fellows elected in recognition of their contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.

    The newly elected Fellows at the University are:

    _ Norman Bradburn (A.B.'52), the Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor in Psychology and the Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies. He is also Senior Vice President for Research at the National Opinion Research Center. Bradburn is a scholar of survey research and the author of "Polls and Surveys: Understanding What They Tell Us," and other books on surveys.

    _ Elaine Fuchs, the Amgen Professor in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology. Fuchs studies the genes that control the growth and development of skin. She is particularly interested in keratin fibers -- proteins that make up the framework of the surface and lining cells of the body -- and she has linked several human skin diseases to defects in the genes for these proteins.

    _ Langdon Gilkey, the Shailer Mathews Professor Emeritus in the Divinity School. One of the pre-eminent Protestant theologians of the 20th century, Gilkey is known in part for his role in what was called a "modern version of the Scopes Monkey Trial" in 1982, a trial in which he testified on behalf of the American Civil Liberties Union against the ultimately overturned Arkansas law that required balanced teaching of evolution and "creation science." The author of numerous articles and books, Gilkey has published works on such topics as the relation between science and religion, the nature of religious language and the Christian understanding of history.

    _ James Norris Jr., Professor in Chemistry and Senior Chemist at Argonne National Laboratory. An expert in photosynthesis, Norris focuses his research on understanding the physical and chemical processes by which light energy is converted into stored chemical energy. In 1992 he shared the American Academy of Arts and Sciences' Rumford Award for his work in this field.

    _ David Schramm, Louis Block Professor in the Physical Sciences. Schramm is a cosmologist widely respected for his contributions to the field of astrophysics, particularly in the study of the origin of the universe and the connection between nuclear and particle physics and astrophysics. He is the co-author of two popular-science books, including "From Quarks to the Cosmos" with Leon Lederman. He has also written more than a dozen technical books and more than 300 scientific articles.

    _ Ralph Shapey, Professor Emeritus in Music. A world-renowned composer, Shapey joined the Chicago faculty in 1964, the same year he founded the University's Contemporary Chamber Players, an ensemble he directed for 29 years. He has written more than 135 compositions, including the highly acclaimed "Concerto fantastique," which was commissioned in honor of the centennials of the University and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

    _ Robert Townsend, the Charles E. Merriam Professor in Economics. An expert on economic development, the theory of contracts, and institutional design, Townsend is best known for his work on information and incentives and on risk and insurance. Among his recent publications is the book "The Medieval Village Economy."