Jan. 6, 1994
Vol. 13, No. 9

current issue
archive / search

    Committee on campus security, crime prevention to convene

    The standing committee on Crime Prevention and Security on Campus and in the Neighborhood will resume its work this month with further discussions on the status of security on campus.

    In June, the committee issued an interim assessment of campus security efforts. The committee examined crime notification programs, transportation, security orientation and other factors affecting campus safety, such as lighting and emergency-telephone locations.

    The committee is chaired by Robert Sampson, Professor in Sociology. In addition to Sampson, members of the committee are Michael Mendoza, a second-year College student and a member of the Inter-House Council's executive committee; Donna Morrone, a registered nurse with the University Health Service; Rosie Muldrow, administrative assistant for the Comptroller's Office; In Paik, a fourth-year student in the College and president of the Council on University Programming; Marsha Rosner, Associate Professor in the Ben May Institute; Susanne Hoeber Rudolph, the William Benton Distinguished Service Professor in Political Science; Jacqueline Stewart, a graduate student in English Language & Literature; and Italo Zanzi, a second-year College student and president of Student Government.

    Ex officio members include Sandra Bateman, Assistant Director of Employee/Labor Relations for Human Resources Management; Stephen Gabel, Director of Academic Publications; Robert Mason, Executive Director of the South East Chicago Commission; Rudolph Nimocks, Director of University Police; JoAnn Shaw, Vice President for Human Resources and Support Services for the Hospitals; Edward Turkington, Dean of Student Services and Deputy Dean of Students in the University; and Richard Zansitis, Associate General Counsel for the Office of Legal Counsel.