June 12, 2008
Vol. 27 No. 18

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    PSD honors exceptional teachers

    The winners of the 2008 Physical Sciences Teaching Prize are Elizabeth Beazley, Mathematics; Jonathan Foley, Chemistry; and Eric Purdy, Computer Science. The prize, which is awarded annually to graduate students in recognition of exceptional teaching in undergraduate physical sciences classes, consists of $750 and a certificate of recognition. The chair of the prize recipient’s department will present it at an awards ceremony.

    “This year, the Physical Sciences Collegiate Division received numerous enthusiastic and thoughtful letters nominating more than two dozen candidates for the 2008 Physical Sciences Teaching Prize,” said John Frederick, Master of the Division and Professor in Geophysical Sciences and the College.

    One nominee was cited for outstanding dedication and enthusiasm brought to each session, fostering “a positive and approachable environment.” Another was lauded for “varied and innovative efforts at personalizing education and motivating each student to excel.”

    Said Frederick: “This year’s nominees were highly regarded for their unflagging commitment to all of their students, regardless of previous experience or future interests in the Physical Sciences. This group not only excelled in their various disciplines and subfields, but, to the gratitude of their many students, they proved exceptional educators as well.”