May 29, 2008
Vol. 27 No. 17

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Divisions, Professional Schools recognize alumni contributions

    Each year the University’s Divisions and Schools recognize alumni who have brought honor to the institution through outstanding contributions to their professional fields and to society. These awards are presented in ceremonies that take place at different times during the year.

    The Divinity School - Alumnus of the Year
    Selected each year by the Baptist Theological Union.

    Emilie Townes (A.B.,’77, A.M.,’79, D.Ministry,’82), the Andrew W. Mellon professor of African American religion and theology, Yale University Divinity School

    Biological Sciences Division and Pritzker School of Medicine - Distinguished Service Awards
    Honoring alumni for outstanding leadership and contributions to biological sciences and medicine.

    Ronald Davis (A.M.,’81, M.D.,’83), Director, Henry Ford Health System and President, American Medical Association

    Jeffrey Gordon (M.D.,’73), the Dr. Robert J. Glaser distinguished university professor and director, Center for Genome Sciences, Washington University

    Robert Heinrikson (Ph.D.,’63), Founder, President and CSO, Proteos, Inc.

    Stephen Spielberg (Ph.D.,’71, M.D.,’73), Principal Investigator, Institute for Pediatric Innovation

    Eugene Thiessen (A.B.,’51, M.D.,’58), Chairman and Founder, aDNAti, Inc.

    Gold Key Awards

    Honoring faculty for outstanding and loyal service to the Biological Sciences Division and to the University.

    Angelo Scanu, Professor of Cardiology in Medicine

    Jean-Paul Spire, Professor of Surgery in Neurology and Surgery

    School of Social Service Administration – Elizabeth Butler Award
    Honoring a recent graduate for distinguished service to society and outstanding professional contributions.

    Evette Cardona (A.M.,’98), Program Officer, Polk Bros. Foundation, Inc.

    Graduate School of Business – Corporate Alumni Award

    Judson Green, Jr. (M.B.A.,’76), President and CEO, NAVTEQ Corporation

    Graduate School of Business – Entrepreneurial Alumni Award

    T. Russell Shields (A.M.,’63, M.B.A.,’67), Co-Founder and Chairman, Ygomi LLC

    Graduate School of Business – Public Sector/Public Service Alumni Award

    Joanne Smith (M.B.A.,’00), President and CEO, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

    Graduate School of Business – Young Alumni Award

    Karen Parkhill (M.B.A.,’92), Commercial Bank CFO, JP Morgan Chase & Company