March 6, 2008
Vol. 27 No. 11

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Chicago Historical Society to honor Gray for career of distinction in education

    By William Harms
    News Office


    Hanna Holborn Gray


    Hanna Holborn Gray, President Emerita of the University and the Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Professor in History and the College, is among five distinguished recipients for the 2008 Making History Awards from The Chicago Historical Society.

    The awards will be presented Thursday, May 15 at the Chicago History Museum. Other recipients are W. James Farrell, Sue Gin, Franz Jackson and the Abbott company.

    Gray will be awarded The Robert Maynard Hutchins History Maker Award for Distinction in Education. She was President of the University from 1978 to 1993. Besides the University, she has taught at Bryn Mawr College, Harvard University, Northwestern University and Yale University.

    Gray has been a fellow of the Newberry Library, the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences and is an honorary fellow of St. Anne’s College of Oxford University. She is a member of the Renaissance Society of America and the American Philosophical Society and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

    Gray is a recipient of the University’s Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, the University’s highest honor for teaching in the College.

    “The important tradition of these awards allows the opportunity to pay collective tribute to those who have demonstrated commitment and excellence in a wide variety of fields,” said Gary Johnson, Chicago History Museum president. “This year’s award recipients add to the list of the previous distinguished 63 recipients that have exhibited a passion for service to the citizens and institutions of Chicago.”

    Farrell will be awarded The Marshall Field History Maker Award for Distinction in Corporate Leadership and Innovation. Farrell was chairman, president and CEO of Illinois Tool Works.

    Gin will be awarded The Bertha Honore Palmer History Maker Award for Distinction in Civic Leadership. Gin was the founder, owner, chairman and CEO of Flying Food Group. She was President of the William McGowan Charitable Fund and a member of the board of directors of the Chicago Botanic Garden.

    Jackson will be awarded The Theodore Thomas History Maker Award for Distinction in the Performing Arts. A staple in the jazz community, the 95-year-old has received numerous awards and is credited as a founding member of the Jazz Institute of Chicago.

    Abbott will be awarded with The Cyrus McCormick History Maker Award for Historical Achievement. Miles White, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, will accept the award.

    Abbott, founded in 1888 by Dr. Wallace Calvin Abbott, has been named annually by Fortune magazine as one of America’s most admired companies since 1984. Abbott’s global citizenship is far reaching, from environmental action to HIV/AIDS awareness.