June 8, 2006
Vol. 25 No. 18

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Undergraduates who excel beyond classroom receive kudos

    During Spring Quarter, the University Community Service Center, the College and the Office of the Reynolds Club and Student Activities honor a group of student leaders for their contributions to the campus and the community.

    The select students are recognized for contributing to campus life and the University community with either Student Leader Awards or Student Service Awards, recognizing those students who exhibit extraordinary social responsibility. The Student Marshals are chosen based on academic record and strong commitment to their extracurricular activities.

    The Perry S. Herst Prize recognizes two graduating College seniors who have excelled in combining their educations with social responsibilities. This year, the UCSC Volunteer Recognition Award was presented to Emily Alpert and Isra Bhatty.

    The Howell Murray Student Medals are one of the College’s highest honors, recognizing College graduating fourth-years who contributed exceptionally to the University through a plethora of co-curricular activities.

    The award is named in honor of alumnus Howell Murray (Ph.B.,’14), a University Trustee and is presented by the Alumni Association. This year’s recipients were Emily Alpert, Ivan Anderson, Maria Cecire, Bonnie Doyle, James Estrella, Fleming Ford, John Gabriel, Chang He, John Paul Jewell, Nicholas Juravich, Kristin Greer Love, Claire Mazur, Renee Neuner, Yenisey Rodriguez, Agraja Sharma, Eferiekose Ukala and Daniel Wasserman.

    The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes two students who have exhibited a strong commitment to service in the greater community during the last school year. This year’s recipients are Bridget Wild and Kyle Lee.

    The Outstanding New Leader Award honors up to two College students in their first or second year who demonstrate outstanding leadership potential that is evident in their work with student groups and contributions to student life. These students have made exceptional contributions to their organization, assisting the organization in growth during the school year. This year’s winners are Leah Endalkatchew and Ruth Anne Whitfield.

    The Jane Morton and Henry C. Murphy Award honors outstanding students, including undergraduates who have made great contributions to the University and the University community. The winners this year are Elliot Goodman, Charlotte RutherfordLieve Teugels.

    The Office of the Reynolds Club and Student Activities Excellence in Leadership Award. recognizes a graduating fourth-year student who has exhibited exceptional leadership skills while enrolled in the College. This year’s recipient is Mohammad Hasan Ali.

    Maroon Key Society recognizes second- and third-year College students who serve as advisors to the Dean of the College. Selected students are extremely active in co-curricular activities, have strong academic records and excel in communication. This year’s newly selected members are Emily Boyd, Philip Caruso, Nina Chihambakwe, Courtney Douglas, Mairin Fogarty, William Fulton, Andrew Hammond, Philip Kovoor, Michelle Lugalia, Daniel Michaeli, Katherine Michonski, Miranda Nelson, Sarah Seitz, Alison Servi, Kathryn Simon, Vanessa Tantillo, Candace Wang, Neil Weijer, Tameem Zainulbhai, Sabahat Adil, S.J. Cohen, Eva DeLaurentiis, Leah Endaldatchew, Zachary Hill, Prerna Kumar, Priyanka Kumar, Althea Lange, Angel Ochoa, Timothy Reynolds, Felix Sanchez, Daniel Sefik, Naomi Tesfamikael and Tyler Zoanni.