March 16, 2006
Vol. 25 No. 12

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed


    The Chicago chapter of the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Foundation Inc. has awarded eight University students with ARCS Chicago 2005-06 scholarships.

    The Chicago recipients, who are students in the Physical and Biological Sciences divisions, are: William Cooper, Biology; Gerri Hutson, Organic Chemistry; Robert Racadio, Biochemistry; Rebecca Rowe, Evolutionary Biology; Michael Seifert, Physics; Megan Collins, Medicine; Shannon Hensley, Medicine; and Shahnaz Kazi, Medicine.

    The ARCS Foundation, which awarded a total of $147,000 in scholarships to 20 students, provides scholarships to academically outstanding United States citizens who are studying to complete their degrees in science, medicine and engineering.

    John Carlstrom, the S. Chandrasekhar Distinguished Service Professor in Astronomy & Astrophysics, has received the Beatrice Tinsley Prize from the American Astronomical Society. Normally awarded every two years, the prize recognizes an outstanding research contribution to astronomy or astrophysics of an exceptionally creative or innovative character.

    The society citation noted Carlstrom’s research on cosmic microwave background radiation: “For his innovative work on the use of interferometry to study the early universe through cosmic microwave background fluctuations and polarimetry and the Sunyaev-Zeldovich effect. He has produced results that strongly constrain cosmological models of the amount and nature of dark matter and the energy and influence of cosmic inflation.”

    The society, established in 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.

    Eugene Goldwasser (Ph.D.,’50), the Alice Hogge and Arthur A. Baer Professor Emeritus in Biochemistry, has been selected to receive the Prince Mahidol Award for 2005, given for “outstanding performance and/or research in the field of medicine for the benefit of mankind.”