December 1, 2005
Vol. 25 No. 6

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Four Chicago professors elected to the AAAS

    By Steve Koppes
    News Office

    Dario Maestriperi

    Milan Mrksich

    The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected four Chicago faculty members as 2005 fellows. The four are Dario Maestripieri, Milan Mrksich, Bernard Strauss and Michael Turner.

    Maestripieri, Associate Professor in Comparative Human Development, Evolutionary Biology and the College, was cited for distinguished contributions to the integrative study of animal behavior, particularly for studies on neuroendocrine, ecological and evolutionary aspects of primate social behavior.

    Mrksich, Professor in Chemistry and the College and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, was cited for the development of innovative strategies to mimic biological surfaces, particularly those used in molecular studies of cell adhesion.

    Bernard Strauss

    Michael Turner

    Strauss, Professor Emeritus in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology and the College, was cited for sustained and distinguished contributions to the field of prokaryotic DNA replication and repair.

    Turner, the Bruce V. and Diana M. Rauner Distinguished Service Professor in Astronomy & Astrophysics, was cited for exceptional research in the evolution of the earliest universe, explaining its significance to the public, and for co-founding the interdisciplinary field of particle physics and cosmology.

    The Chicago AAAS fellows are among 376 members who were elevated to the rank this year because of their efforts to advance science or applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

    New fellows will be recognized Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006, during the AAAS annual meeting in St. Louis, Mo.