Aug. 19, 2004
Vol. 23 No. 20

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Accolades go to faculty, clinical staff in biological sciences

    Abraham Dachman, Professor in Radiology, has been inducted as a fellow in the American College of Radiology, one of the highest honors conferred by the association. Selection is based on service to organized medicine, significant research accomplishments, exemplary performance as a teacher and an outstanding reputation among colleagues and the community.

    The National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression is providing $180,000 to three University researchers—Jackie Gollan, Assistant Professor in Psychiatry; Chun-Yu Liu, Research Associate in Psychiatry; and Benjamin VanVoorhees, Assistant Professor in Medicine—to study the relationship between stress hormones and depression in adolescents, the genetics of bipolar disorder and interventions for adolescents at risk for depression.

    The scientific leadership of NARSAD reviewed more than 1,000 grant applications to select a total of 190 Young Investigator Awards. NARSAD’s Young Investigator Award Program provides support for the most promising young scientists conducting neurobiological research. Basic and/or clinical investigators are supported, but research must be relevant to schizophrenia, major affective disorders or other serious mental illnesses.

    The Young Investigator projects at the University are Gollan’s study on the neuroendocrinology of stress in depressed adolescents; Liu’s study of 130 candidate genes in search of an association with bipolar disorder; and VanVoorhees’ study on the effectiveness of a primary care- and Internet-based intervention program to teach coping skills to adolescents who are at high risk for depression.

    Kelly Kramer, a pediatric nurse practitioner at the University Children’s Hospital, has been selected as one of the Leukemia Research Foundation’s 2004 Nurses of the Year. The award highlights the round-the-clock dedication of hematology-oncology nurses in the care of patients with leukemia, lymphoma and myelodysplastic syndromes.

    Patients, parents of patients, children of patients, spouses, partners and coworkers nominate candidates who hold R.N. or L.P.N. certification and who serve patients with leukemia, lymphoma or myelodysplastic syndrome. Candidates for the award also must work in the state of Illinois or within 100 miles of Chicago.

    The 350-year-old Royal College of Physicians of Ireland has conferred its Honorary Fellowship on Samuel Refetoff, the Frederick H. Rawson Professor Emeritus in Medicine and Pediatrics. The Royal College, founded in 1654, and with 7,000 members worldwide, is primarily concerned with postgraduate education and the setting of standards in medical care.