June 10, 2004
Vol. 23 No. 18

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed


    Stephen Hanauer, Professor in Medicine and Section Chief of Gastroenterology, has received the 2004 Janssen Award from the American Gastroenterological Association for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Gastroenterology. The award recognizes “continued efforts in raising the standard of research, education and patient care in the field of gastroenterology.”

    Hanauer received the award in May at the annual Digestive Diseases Week meeting, where he presented two studies that provide encouraging results from clinical trials of novel drugs to treat ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease.

    Edwin Kaplan, Professor in Surgery, has been elected president of the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter of the American College of Surgeons.

    Kaplan, who joined the University faculty in 1968, has built a reputation for his expertise in the management of endocrine surgical problems—thyroid, parathyroid, pancreatic and adrenal diseases.

    He has been repeatedly honored as one of the best physicians in America, and has served as President of the Medical Staff Organization at the University from 1997 to 2001, and as president of the Chicago Surgical Society and of the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons.

    Luigi Zingales, the Robert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance in the Graduate School of Business, has been selected to receive the 2003 Bernacer Prize.

    The Observatory of the European Central Bank awards the prize annually to an economist from the European Union under age 40 who has made outstanding contributions to the field of macroeconomics and finance.

    Zingales’ research focuses on the theory of the firm, the relation between organization and financing, and the causes and effects of financial developments.

    He is a faculty research fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research, a research fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research and a fellow of the European Corporate Governance Institute.