May 27, 2004
Vol. 23 No. 17

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Students honored for their leadership, contributions as community volunteers

    Every Spring Quarter, the College, the University Community Service Center, and the Office of the Reynolds Club and Student Activities honor a select number of student leaders for their contributions to the campus community.

    Student Leader Awards are given for contributions to any part of campus life. Service Awards are conferred on students who demonstrate outstanding social responsibility, and Student Marshals are chosen based on their academic record and commitment to extracurricular activities.

    The UCSC awards were conferred at the center’s annual Volunteer Recognition Reception, Tuesday, May 25, at the David and Alfred Smart Museum of Art, and the Student Leader Awards were presented at the College Honors Awards Assembly Wednesday, May 26.

    The Perry S. Herst Prize is intended to recognize two graduating seniors in the College who have combined study with social responsibility. This UCSC Volunteer Recognition Award was presented this year to Ryan Hollon and Maria Gaona.

    The Howell Murray Student Medals, one of the College’s highest honors, recognizes graduating fourth-years who have made outstanding contributions to the University through a range of co-curricular activities. Named in honor of Howell Murray (Ph.B.,’14), a distinguished alumnus and trustee of the University, and presented by the Alumni Association, the medals this year went to: Alyson Auton, Sujata Bhat, Emily Churchman, Ariana Gadd, David Goodloe, Ella Hereth, William Lin, Kinh Ngo, Jon Quinn, Maryah Qureshi, Tamilia Reed, David Saunders, Craig Segall, James Stevens and Maura Walz.

    The President’s Volunteer Service Award is intended to recognize two volunteers who have demonstrated a superior commitment to service in the greater community during the past academic year. This year’s recipients, Emily Alpert and Tracey Neubrand, were honored at the UCSC Volunteer Recognition Reception and the College Honors Awards Assembly.

    The Outstanding New Leader Award honors up to two students in their first or second year in the College who show leadership promise through their contributions to student life and their work with a student organization(s). The award honors those students who have made exemplary contributions to their organization and have helped the organization grow through their participation—while not necessarily holding a leadership position. The winners of this year’s awards are Fleming Ford and Chang He.

    The Herbert J. Morris Memorial Prize, which recognizes a degree candidate (College fourth-year or graduate/professional degree candidate) who has made significant contributions in a single co-curricular endeavor, was given to Jeffrey Sousa.

    The Jane Morton and Henry C. Murphy Award recognizes non-graduating student leaders: undergraduate or graduate students who have made exceptional and unique contributions to the University community. This year’s recipients are Indivar Dutta-Gupta, John Gabriel, Stephanie Graves, Franklin McMillan, Jennifer Newberry and Yousef Turshani.

    Maroon Key Society honorees are second- and third-year students who serve as advisers to the Dean of the College. Members are especially active in co-curricular activities, are good communicators and have strong academic records. This year’s elected members are Pericles Abbasi, Emily Alpert, Ivan Anderson, Bonnie Doyle, Fleming Ford, Jamiah Harris, Chang He, John Paul Jewell, James Logan, Kristin Love, Adelle McElveen, Renee Neuner, Yenisey Rodriguez, Elizabeth Sheyn, Daniel Wasserman, Daniel Yanez, Mariangela Anzalone, Jeremy Barr, Julie Celebi, Catherine Chao, Anne Ciechanowski, Maire Daly, Indivar Dutta-Gupta, Emily Janoch, Fay LaManna, Anna Lyman, Andrew Maloney, Koren Phillips, Christine Romano, Charles Saenz, Zankhana Sheth, Neeraj Singh and Andrew Stalbaum.

    Student Marshals are third-year students who have excelled academically and demonstrated outstanding commitment to significant extra-curricular activities on campus and in the community. They assist with the University Convocation, and on occasion they represent the student body at other special University events. President Randel has appointed the following students to serve as Student Marshals for the 2003-2004 academic year: Lawrence Atkinson, Lindsay Atnip, Jeremy Barr, Alyssa Barto, Lauren Beitler, Michelle Bringer, Adam Bronson, Christopher Ellis, Michael Ellsworth, Aaron Foss, Benjamin Freeze, Matthew Gelvin, Samsher Gill, Christopher Gross, Jane Hamlin, Nicholas Heavens, Nathaniel Hendren, Gabrielle Holburt, Stephanie Holmes, Alexander Hsu, Jessica Iannotti, Emily Janoch, Antoinette Klimek, Julia Kowalski, Nathan Krapf, Amy Lasater, Leah Levinger, Richard Li, Jennifer Littlefield, Deborah Mason, Franklin McMillan, Monica Miller, Ana Minian, Patrick Monahan, David Muraskin, Nicholas Oberly, Abra Pollock, Anthony Pulice, Ryan Reich, Christine Romano, Timothy Schneider, Joanna Slotkin, David Strubbe, Ashley Swanson and Matthew Szydagis.