Feb. 5, 2004
Vol. 23 No. 9

current issue
archive / search
Chronicle RSS Feed

    Five join American Physical Society

    By Steve Koppes
    News Office

    Five University scientists have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society.

    Young-Kee Kim, Professor in Physics and the College, was cited “for her precision measurement of the mass of the W boson and her leadership in commissioning the Collider Detector at Fermilab II.”

    Stephan Meyer, Professor in Astronomy & Astrophysics and the College, was cited “for his pioneering use of bolometers to study the anisotropy of the cosmic microwave background and his measurements of the CMB anisotropy on scales of 0.1 to 90 degrees.”

    Norbert Scherer, Professor in Chemistry and the College, was cited “for his seminal contributions to the techniques of ultra-fast spectroscopy and their applications to fundamental problems in condensed-phase dynamics.”

    P. James Viccaro, Senior Scientist in the James Franck Institute, was cited “for his contribution to the development of synchrotron radiation sources, in particular insertion devices and the associated experimental infrastructure that have had a major impact on the fields of biology, materials science and physics.”

    Pavel Wiegmann, Professor in Physics and the College, was cited “for exact solutions of models of interacting electronic systems and quantum field theory, including the multi-channel Kondo problem and the Anderson model for magnetic impurities.”

    American Physical Society fellowships were created to recognize members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or who made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.

    Each year, no more than one-half of one percent of the then-current society membership is recognized for election to the status of fellow by peer members.