Dec. 5, 2002
Vol. 22 No. 5

current issue
archive / search

    Professors in Physics, in Chemistry elected to American Physical Society

    Two University scientists have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society.

    Laurie Butler, Professor in Chemistry and the College, was cited “for fundamental and pioneering contributions to the understanding of non-adiabatic effects in molecular photophysics and photoreactivity.”

    Heinrich Jaeger, Professor in Physics and the College, was cited “for fundamental contributions to the study of granular systems, mesoscopic self-assembly and flux flow in superconductors.”

    The society’s fellowship program was created to recognize members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or who have made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.

    Each year, no more than one-half of 1 percent of the then-current membership of the society is elected.