Sept. 26, 2002
Vol. 22 No. 1

current issue
archive / search

    Last house in Max Palevsky Residential Commons named to honor Graham

    On Saturday, Sept. 21, some of the first students who will live in the newly named Graham House moved into their new living quarters in the Max Palevsky Residential Commons. First-year students Jessica Lent (foreground) and Maren Christensen unpacked and settled into their new home.

    The University has named the last remaining College House in the Max Palevsky Residential Commons in honor of the late Katherine Graham (A.B., ’38).

    The University made this decision to recognize Graham’s generous contributions to and longstanding relationship with Chicago.

    Graham, who elevated the status of the Washington Post to national prominence, was the first female appointed to the board of the Associated Press as well as the first female president of the American Newspaper Publishers Association.

    She also was the first woman elected to serve on the University’s Board of Trustees in 1969, and she served as a Life Trustee until her death in 2001.

    She received the Benton Medal in 1996 for her extraordinary service to the field of education and to the University.

    Opened in fall 2001, Max Palevsky Residential Commons is divided into eight houses, four of which adopted their names from the former Woodward Court residence hall. In addition to the Graham House, the other three houses are named Alper House, Hoover House and May House. These four newly named houses recognize alumni with a strong history of commitment to the University.