May 9, 2002
Vol. 21 No. 15

current issue
archive / search

    Hansen will lead Social Sciences as new Dean

    By Josh Schonwald
    News Office

    J. Mark Hansen

    President Randel announced last week that J. Mark Hansen, one of the nation’s leading scholars of American politics and the former William R. Kenan Jr. Professor in Political Science, will return to the University to serve as Dean of the Social Sciences Division.

    Hansen, currently a professor of political science at Harvard University, will serve a five-year term as Dean, beginning Monday, July 1. Hansen succeeds Richard Saller, who served as Social Sciences Dean from 1993 until his appointment as Provost on Jan. 1.

    The Acting Dean of the Social Sciences Division, John Lucy, will resume his duties as Master of the Social Sciences Collegiate Division.

    Hansen, whose research has focused on interest groups, citizen activism and public opinion, is the author of two books, Mobilization, Participation and Democracy in America (1993) with Steven Rosenstone, and Gaining Access: Congress and the Farm Lobby, 1919-1981 (1991).

    In 1999, he received the Heinz Eulau Award from the American Political Science Association for Best Article Published in the American Political Science Review. He also received the Outstanding Book Award from the National Conference of Black Political Scientists for Mobilization, Participation and Democracy in America in 1995.

    Hansen’s current research focuses on public opinion, public budgeting and politicians’ inferences from the outcomes of elections.

    In addition to his distinguished scholarship, Hansen is an experienced administrator. He served as Chair of the Political Science Department from 1995 to 1998 and was appointed to the position of Associate Provost for Education and Research for the University in 1998.

    He joined the Chicago faculty in 1986 as an Assistant Professor in Political Science, was appointed an Associate Professor in 1992, and Professor in 1994. Hansen received a B.A. in 1981 from the University of Kansas and an M.Phil. in 1983 and Ph.D. in 1987 from Yale University.