May 9, 2002
Vol. 21 No. 15

current issue
archive / search

    APS elects two on faculty, awards fellow for dissertation

    By Steve Koppes
    News Office

    Two Chicago scientists have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society, and a third scientist has received the society’s 2002 Tanaka Dissertation Award.

    Elected as APS fellows were Philippe Guyot-Sionnest, Professor in Chemistry and the College, and Simon Swordy, Professor in Physics and the College.

    The society cited Guyot-Sionnest “for fundamental contributions to surface nonlinear optics and to characterizing and manipulating the electronic and optical responses of semiconductor nanocrystals.”

    The society cited Swordy “for innovative measurements with detectors on the ground, on balloons and in space that significantly advanced the understanding of the sources and galactic propagation of cosmic rays at high energies.”

    Bruce Knuteson, a McCormick Fellow in the Enrico Fermi Institute, has received the 2002 Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award from the APS for his research at the University of California, Berkeley. Knuteson was cited “for his development of the innovative SLEUTH algorithm and its successful application to a sensitive search for new phenomena in high-energy interactions in the DZero experiment at the Fermilab Tevatron. The results of this work have the potential for changing fundamentally the way that particle physicists approach searches for new physics.”