Nov. 15, 2001
Vol. 21 No. 5

current issue
archive / search


    Ronald Singer, the Robert R. Bensley Professor in Organismal Biology & Anatomy and Anthropology, will receive the Mary B. Ansari Best Reference Work Award for 2001 for his two-volume Encyclopedia of Paleontology. The Geoscience Information Society presents the award annually.

    Singer received the honor Tuesday, Nov. 6, at the Geological Society of America Annual Meeting and Exposition in Boston, Mass.

    The Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies of the American Statistical Association has recently honored Xiao-Li Meng, Research Associate in Statistics, with its Presidentís Award.

    Established in 1976, the award is presented to a young statistician in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the profession of statistics.

    The Mathematical Association of America has named University alumnus Edward Spitznagel Jr., professor of mathematics at Washington University in St. Louis, as the recipient of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

    Spitznagel received his S.M. in mathematics in 1963 and his Ph.D. in mathematics in 1965, both from the University. He joined Washington Universityís faculty in 1969.

    Lorna Straus, Professor in the Biological Sciences Collegiate Division and Organismal Biology & Anatomy, has been elected Vice Chair-Chair Elect of the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. NCACS, the accrediting body that oversees the University, was founded in 1895 as a membership organization for educational institutions.

    The association is one of six regional institutional accrediting associations in the United States. Through its commissions it accredits and thereby grants membership to educational institutions in the 19-state North Central region.

    Straus has served on the Board for three years; this election will extend her service to five years. She is currently an elected member of the Executive Committee.

    Roland Winston, Professor in Physics and the College, will receive the Farrington Daniels Award for outstanding intellectual leadership in renewable energy from the International Solar Energy Society.

    The award, which Winston will receive later this month, is the societyís highest honor, and it is given every two years.

    The award is named for a University of Wisconsin, Madison, professor of chemistry who was a pioneer in renewable energy and Director of the Metallurgical Laboratory (Chicago Manhattan Project) in 1945.