Aug. 16, 2001
Vol. 20 No. 20

current issue
archive / search


    John Kroll, Associate Comptroller, has been honored with the 2001 Daniel B. Robinson Award from the National Association of College and University Business Officers. Kroll was recognized for excellence and leadership in demonstrating a continuous commitment to the advancement of college and university accounting and reporting.

    During his nearly 20-year tenure in higher education, Kroll has distinguished himself as a leader in the field of accounting and fiscal management through several of his contributions to NACUBO. These include participating on the association’s Accounting Principles Council, providing input as a representative to the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Not-for-Profit Committee and influencing development of the Not-for-Profit audit guide issued in June 1996; leading an effort to inform and instruct the NACUBO membership of new reporting standards; and speaking to higher education administrators on reporting requirements.

    In a June ceremony at Navy Pier, the accounting firm of Ernst & Young honored Patricia Lee, Director of the Institute for Justice Clinic on Entrepreneurship in the Law School, with its “Entrepreneur of the Year Award” in the category of community service.

    “I am elated that our efforts to stimulate private enterprise in the inner city are being recognized,” said Lee. “Ernst & Young does a great service to the community by recognizing the value of entry-level entrepreneurs’ participation in the American dream.”

    George Tiao, the W. Allen Wallis Professor of Econometrics & Statistics in the Graduate School of Business, has received the Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award from the American Statistical Association.

    The ASA honored Tiao last week at its 161st Joint Statistical Meetings in Atlanta, Ga. The ASA citation noted that Tiao was honored for “significant and fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of statistics, particularly Bayesian inference, multiple time series modeling, intervention analysis, environmental statistics, seasonal adjustment, and forecasting; for leadership in research in business statistics, econometrics, finance and atmospheric ozone; for being an outstanding mentor to Chinese statistical education and statisticians of many backgrounds; and for innovative service on government advisory committees and editorial boards.”

    The ASA selects recipients of the Wilks Memorial Award for contributions to the advancement of scientific or technical knowledge, ingenious application of existing knowledge or successful activity in the fostering of cooperative scientific efforts that have been directly involved in matters of national defense or public interest.

    The award, which consists of a citation, a medal and a cash honorarium, was established in 1964 and named to honor the memory and career of Wilks. The ASA is a scientific and educational society that was founded in Boston in 1839.