Feb. 1, 2001
Vol. 20 No. 9

current issue
archive / search


    >Nicholas Barberis, Associate Professor of Finance in the Graduate School of Business, was recently honored with the TIAA-CREF Institute’s Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security. His prize-winning paper “Investing for the Long Run when Returns are Predictable” was published in the February 2000 issue of the Journal of Finance.

    His study examines how predictability in asset returns affects optimal portfolio choice for long-term investors. Investment advisers often maintain that long-term investors should allocate more aggressively to equities. But according to Barberis’ research, there is insufficient data to confidently judge the risk of stocks.

    Ka Yee Lee, Assistant Professor in Chemistry, will receive the 2001 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award on Monday, Feb. 19, during the Biophysical Society’s annual meeting in Boston. She also will deliver a plenary lecture during the society’s awards symposium.

    Lee will share the award with Millie Georgiadis, an assistant professor in chemistry at Rutgers University. The award goes to women of high academic promise who have not yet reached positions of high recognition in academia.

    Much of Lee’s research is focused on understanding the molecular functioning of lung surfactant, a complex mixture of lipids and proteins that assists the breathing process. Her work could lead to the development of improved artificial lung surfactant, which could be used to treat victims of Respiratory Distress Syndrome.

    She also is studying the aggregation of beta amyloid, a plaque-forming substance responsible for killing brain cells of patients with Alzheimer’s disease.

    The Phi Beta Kappa scholarly honorary society awarded Peter Novick, Professor Emeritus in History, with the Ralph Waldo Emerson Award for outstanding studies of the intellectual and cultural condition of mankind for his book The Holocaust in American Life.

    Novick’s Phi Beta Kappa Book Award citation noted, “Novick’s work shows that historians choose their subjects and frame their evaluations and explanations in ways heavily shaped by their ideologies and the institutions in which they work. This is an exceptional historical essay––a work in which the author has used all the resources of his craft to clarify public thinking on a deeply problematic and sensitive issue.”

    Novick also is the author of That Noble Dream: The “Objectivity Question” and the American Historical Profession, which won the American Historical Association’s prize for the best book of the year in American


    Marcus Peter, Associate Professor in the Ben May Institute for Cancer Research, received the Walther and Christine Richtzenhain Prize for Experimental Cancer Research from the German Cancer Research Center. The prize carries a $10,000 award.

    Adolf Sprudzs, Foreign Law Librarian and Lecturer in Legal Bibliography Emeritus, received one of the highest awards in his field, the American Association of Law Libraries’ Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award.

    The award is given for “outstanding, extended and sustained service to law librarianship.”

    Sprudzs is the retired Foreign and International Law Librarian at the D’Angelo Law Library at the University. The association also cited Sprudzs, a native of Latvia, for his career-long commitment to mentoring and fostering international librarianship.

    Eve Van Cauter, Professor in Medicine, and colleagues at Chicago and at the University of Brussels (Belgium), won a $20,000 International Pharmacia Corporation Award for best clinical research paper published in 1999.

    Their research, which focused on the adverse metabolic effects of evening elevations of the stress hormone cortisol, was published in the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism.

    Janel Mueller, Dean of the Humanities Division and Professor in English Language & Literature, and Suzanne Gossett, professor in English at Loyola University, received a special award from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women “in recognition of the exemplary quality and generosity of their work in completing the edition of The Second Part of the Countess of Montgomery’s Urania by Mary Wroth.”

    Wroth is credited as the first woman to have published a work of prose fiction in the English language. When the First Part of the Urania was published in London in 1621, a storm of protest engulfed the work and its author. Wroth never published the Second Part, which is preserved at the Newberry Library in Chicago as a unique manuscript in the author’s own hand.