Sept. 21, 2000
Vol. 20 No. 1

current issue
archive / search

    Endowed Chair established to honor President Emerita

    An endowed chair has been established in honor of Hanna Holburn Gray, President Emerita and the Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Professor Emerita in History.

    Gray, who served as President of the University from 1978 to 1993 and then returned to teaching in Autumn Quarter 1994 in the Department of History, is a specialist in the history of humanism, political and historical thought, and politics in the Renaissance and Reformation.
    [hanna gray]
    Hanna Holburn Gray

    “It is quite wonderful that the University has an endowed professorship honoring Mrs. Gray,” said Geoffrey Stone, Provost of the University. “She is one of the great figures in the history of our University.”

    Gray was a member of the faculty from 1961 to 1972 and returned to the University in 1978 as President.

    Among her numerous honors and awards are the Charles Frankel Prize from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Jefferson Medal from the American Philosophical Society, the Medal of Liberty and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor.

    In 1996, Gray received a Lewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.