June 8, 2000
Vol. 19 No. 18

current issue
archive / search

    Law students will receive honors at first convocation session

    By Peter Schuler
    News Office

    The University Law School has honored students in its programs with various awards for outstanding scholarship and service to the Law School.

    The following list of awards will be given to students in the Law School at the first convocation session, Friday, June 9.

    The Ann Watson Barber Outstanding Service Award for third-year students who have made exceptional contributions to the quality of life at the Law School, were awarded to Ellen Korte Fulton, James Madigan, Scotty Mann, Matthew Michael, Allyson Paix Newton and Margaret Peterlin.

    The Joseph Henry Beale Prizes, presented to a student in each section of the first-year legal research and writing program whose work is judged to be most worthy of special recognition, were awarded to Elissa Chirban, Steven Fagell, Keith Halverstam, Marc Jolin, Anup Malani and Nathan Sutton.

    The Donald E. Egan Scholar Award, presented to a student who, like Egan (J.D., ’61), has demonstrated a strong interest in the Law School and has a reputation for integrity, was awarded to Joshua Rabinovitz.

    The Hinton Moot Court Competition Award, given to the winner of the Moot Court Competition in brief writing and oral argument in the Law School, was awarded to Cara Tseng.

    The Entrepreneur’s Advocate Award of the Institute for Justice Clinic on Entrepreneurship, awarded to the graduating student who has made exceptional contributions to the Institute for Justice Clinic, its clients and the cause of entrepreneurship, was presented to Nanda Monteiro.

    The Karl Llewellyn Memorial Cup for excellence in brief writing and oral argument in the Law School was awarded to James Madigan and Christopher Roach.

    The Edwin F. Mandel Award, presented to the graduate who has contributed most to the Law School’s clinical education program, was awarded to Douglas James Kramer.

    The Thomas R. Mulroy Prizes for excellence in appellate advocacy were awarded to Vidya Atre, Mark Castillo, James Madigan, Daniel Muino, Christopher Roach, Kevin St. John and Care Tseng.

    The John M. Olin Prize, presented to the outstanding graduate in Law and Economics, was awarded to Edward Morrison.

    The Casper Platt Award for the outstanding paper written by a student in the Law School was made to Allyson Newton for her paper, “A Gym of One’s Own: Sex Discrimination and Women’s Only Health Clubs. ”